Entries open for Renault MSA Young Journalist & Photographer Awards 2015

Thursday, October 8, 2015 - 11:00
Comments off


Renault Group UK and the Motor Sports Association (MSA) are inviting submissions for the 2015 Renault MSA Young Motor Sport Journalist and Photographer of the Year awards, designed to encourage the new generation of reporters and photographers working within UK motor sports.

Established in 2002, the awards are now open to those aged 30 and under. An expert panel will consider the applications; each winner will receive a trophy and a cheque for £1,000 at the MSA’s Night of Champions ceremony at the Royal Automobile Club in January.

In addition the winning photographer’s images will be framed and hung at both the Royal Automobile Club and Motor Sports House, and will appear in MSA magazine. The two winners will also receive a year’s provisional membership of the Guild of Motoring Writers, the world’s largest organisation of automotive editorial professionals.

Jeremy Townsend, Renault UK Communications Director, said: “Renault UK has been a proud supporter of UK motor sports for over 40 years and we are delighted to continue our backing of these important media awards. Over the years we have seen how much they can benefit young journalists and photographers, so we look forward to deciding who will be next to earn these prestigious titles.”

Rob Jones, MSA Chief Executive, added: “For motor sport journalists and photographers rising through the ranks, these are the awards to win. Not only do they offer two winners a cash prize courtesy of Renault UK, they also give all entrants a chance to put their work in front of a panel of experts from both the sport and the media. As such I would encourage all those eligible to enter, and we look forward to receiving their submissions.”

Candidates must have been aged 30 or under on 1 January 2015 and be able to demonstrate published work involving domestic UK motor sport. They can work in local, regional, specialist or electronic media and are required to submit a minimum of three published articles or five photographs from the UK media in 2015.

Application forms are available by email from media@msauk.org and entries must be sent to the MSA by 20 November 2015.

Previous winners:

Journalist: Scott Mitchell, Autosport
Photographer: Adam Pigott, freelance

Journalist: Alex Harmer, Motor Sport Magazine
Photographer: Tom Loomes, freelance

Journalist: Jason Craig, Coleraine Chronicle
Photographer: Nick Dungan, freelance

Journalist: Dan McCalla, Motorsport News
Photographer: Dominic Romney, freelance

Journalist: Rob Ladbrook, Motorsport News
Photographer: William Neill, freelance

Journalist: Ben Anderson, Autosport
Photographer: Dominic Romney, freelance

Journalist: Ed Foster, Motor Sport
Photographer: Drew Gibson, LAT

Journalist: Steven English, Autosport
Photographer: Drew Gibson, LAT

Journalist: Kevin Turner, Autosport
Photographer: Michael Hoyer, freelance

Journalist: Glenn Freeman, Motorsport News
Photographer: Gavin Ireland, Racecar Engineering

Journalist: Gemma Briggs, Racecar/Haymarket
Photographer: Glenn Dunbar, LAT

Journalist: Tim Redmayne, Motorsport News
Photographer: Jonathan MacDonald, Pacenotes

Journalist: Will Gray, Collings Sport
Photographer: Jakob Ebrey, Jakob Ebrey Photographic

Comments are closed.

Advertise here