IMI rewards outstanding automotive talent

Friday, October 24, 2014 - 13:50
Comments off

IMI rewards outstanding automotive talent

IMI rewards outstanding automotive talent

The Institute of the Motor Industry (IMI) has celebrated the achievements of automotive professionals, students and training providers at its Outstanding Achievers Awards ceremony, held for the first time at the Heritage Motor Centre in Warwickshire. His Royal Highness Prince Michael of Kent, who is patron of the IMI Group, attended the event and described winners as “future leaders and current role models in the sector.”

The Outstanding Achievers Awards showcase dedication and hard work that is taking place across the entire industry, including students and apprentices who have shown exceptional passion and aptitude for their studies, as well as practising automotive professionals who set the benchmark for others working in the sector in terms of skills and professionalism.

Euro Car Parts joined the IMI at the ceremony as lead sponsor and nine winners were chosen from over 120,000 IMI Qualification learners and 30,000 IMI Accreditation holders. A new award for Outstanding Management Professional looked at nominations from across the breadth of the sector.

South Devon College won the coveted Approved Centre of the Year Award for the second year running, whilst Riverpark Training and Development Ltd took the Specialist Centre of the of Year award back to Northern Ireland.

IMI CEO Steve Nash commented: “Today’s winners represent the calibre of individual we believe the motor industry needs to lead it into the future. Many of them have overcome adversity to reach where they are now and have demonstrated extraordinary effort in order to reach their goals. We know they will go on to raise standards and inspire others to take up careers in the sector.”

The full list of IMI Outstanding Achievers Awards Winners 2014 included:
Outstanding Management Professional
Lee Baty – Laird Assessors

Outstanding Accredited Professional
Christian McGowan – Just Car Clinics

Light Vehicle
Jason Ratcliffe – nominated by Volvo Training and Development

Heavy Vehicle
Matthew Dyer – nominated by Bridgwater College

Colin Brown – nominated by South Devon College

Body Repair
Stuart Graham Davidson – nominated by Newcastle College

Andrew Allen – nominated by Wirral MET College

Charles Rogers – nominated by Kwik-Fit GB Ltd

Bus & Coach
Seyed Nima Vakashory-Kohi – nominated by The Manchester College

Samantha Burr – nominated by Skillnet Automotive Academy

Specialist Centre of the Year
Riverpark Training and Development

Approved Centre of the Year
South Devon College

Comments are closed.