FTA reveal Everywoman In Transport award winners

Thursday, June 4, 2015 - 11:27
Comments off


The winners of the FTA everywoman in Transport & Logistics Awards for 2015 have been unveiled at a ceremony held in London this week.

Hundreds of business figures attended the ceremony at the London Hilton on Park Lane to celebrate the work of ladies considered to be the finest in their roles within the transport and logistics sector.

The FTA everywoman in Transport & Logistics Awards were launched eight years ago and help raise awareness of the varied and rewarding careers available to women considering the industry as a career choice.

FTA’s Chief Executive David Wells presented the 2015 Woman of the Year Award which was won by Fiona Kerr – Managing Director of First Glasgow. Fiona was recognised for being the first female Managing Director of any of First Group’s UK local bus businesses, and for championing women in the company.

Commenting on the Awards – David Wells said: “The on-going driver shortage crisis illustrates the need for our industry to access a wider talent pool in order to meet its need for good quality staff. Working with everywoman helps us to highlight the importance of the freight and logistics sector, and encourages others to join what is an essential industry to the UK economy.”

This year’s categories attracted a record number of nominations. The 2015 FTA everywoman winners come from well-known organisations as diverse as the Royal Navy, London Underground and DHL, as well as start-up enterprises, reflecting the varying options for those contemplating a career in logistics or transport.

The 2015 winners are:

Woman of the Year Award 2015:
Fiona Kerr – Managing Director, First Glasgow

Rising Star of the Year Award – sponsored by Wincanton:
Zoë Dobell – Project Engineer, London Underground, from London

Driver of the Year Award – sponsored by Motor Transport:
Kerryn Hedley – Bus Driver, Reading Buses, from Reading

The Warehousing Award – sponsored by DHL:
Joanne Harrison – Days Warehouse Shift Manager, ASDA, from Hartlepool

Innovation & Sustainability Award:
Zoe Powers – Sales and Customer Relations Director, GLH, from London

Team Leader of the Year Award – sponsored by High Speed 1 (HS1):
Lt Cdr Elaine Boyd RN – Logistics Officer, Royal Navy, from London

Leader of the Year Award – sponsored by Asda Logistics Services:
Jenny Hooper – Managing Director, Independent Freight, from Nuneaton

Industry Champion Award – sponsored by TNT UK:
Nicola Hosty – Head of HR Support Services, Northern Rail, from Leeds

FTA has supported everywoman and its initiatives since 2008, including the everywoman in Transport & Logistics Leadership Academy and the FTA everywoman Accelerate Programme.

Comments are closed.